erik lundegaard

Sunday January 26, 2014

Alfonso Cuaron Wins DGA for 'Gravity'

Last night Alfonso Cuaron won the Directors Guild Award for “Gravity,” but no one really cares about that. They want to know what this means in terms of the Oscars.


If Cuaron had won the PGA by himself, as opposed to sharing it in a split vote with Steve McQueen for “12 Years a Slave,” I'd say bet the house on Cuaron and “Gravity” for the Oscar. Now I'd just say bet the bedroom. Or maybe the bed. Or the pillow. The older one with the stains on it.

I'm obviously not a betting man.

The last time the PGAs and the DGAs agreed and their picture didn't win the Oscar for best picture was in 2005 with “Brokeback Mountain,” which was, in its day, controversial, and we know how the Academy shies from controversy. Before then, you'd have to go back to “Saving Private Ryan” in '98: sabotage via Weinstein.

In both instances, of course, the director (Ang Lee, Steven Spielberg) won best director, so Cuaron and “Gravity” will win some major award March 2nd.

Here's a chart on past DGA and PGA winners.

See you March 2nd.

Posted at 03:44 AM on Sunday January 26, 2014 in category Movies - Awards  
« Quote of the Day   |   Home   |   The State of the Union ... Contains 'A Deep Seated Dislike for Most Things America Stands For' »

Twitter: @ErikLundegaard