erik lundegaard

The DGA Nominations: 3 out of 5 Ain't Bad

The Directors Guild of America announced its 2015 nominees for outstanding directorial achievement in feature film:

  • Alejandro G. Iñárritu, “The Revenant” (Yes!)
  • Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight” (Yes!)
  • Adam McKay, “The Big Short” (Yes!)
  • George Miller, “Mad Max: Fury Road” (No!)
  • Ridley Scott, “The Martian” (Whatever)

I'd lose Miller and Scott for Naji Abu Nowar (“Theeb”) and Todd Haynes (“Carol”), but three out of five ain't bad. 

One of the above will almost certainly win the Academy Award for best picture. Since 1952, only one movie has ever won the Academy's best picture without its director being nominated for a DGA: “Driving Miss Daisy” in 1989; Bruce Beresford. FWIW, the DGA also ignored Spike Lee that year.

Little discussed fact, given how so many film critics on social media are complaining about the lack of diversity in the DGA and AMPAS: It's been almost 10 years since an American male has won the Academy Award for best director. Recently it's been Mexican, Taiwanese, French and British nationals. The last American was Kathryn Bigelow in 2009. The last American male? Or males? The Coens for “No Country for Old Men.”

Rooting interests, anyone?

Posted at 02:23 PM on Tue. Jan 12, 2016 in category Movies - Awards  


« NYFCC Sings Oh! Carol   |   Home   |   Producers Guild Goes Long on 'The Big Short' »
 RSS    Facebook

Twitter: @ErikLundegaard